Tough love and good advice.

As I’ve said before, the only way to learn how to be a successful devil in Prada is to listen to those who have gone before you, so I wanted to share one of my favorite sources of advice with all of you.  Kelly Cutrone may very well be the Anna Wintour of fashion PR, both iconic and incredible at her job.  Her book, If You Have to Cry Go Outside, is a blend of blunt truths and maternal advice that makes it a must-read for anyone entering the fashion industry.

I’ve read the book more than once, because I feel like it offers some very real perspective that’s not always easy to find.  Here are a few of my favorite gems from Cutrone:

“My experience in the fashion industry has taught me to act confidently and decisively, without regret or self-doubt- in other words, with detachment from the outcome, which is the end goal of any good yogi.”

“This was when I learned that you have to give up your life as you know it to get a new one: that sometimes you need to let go of everything you’ve been clinging to and start over, whether because you’ve outgrown it or because it’s not working anymore or because it was wrong for you in the first place.”

And my personal favorite (seriously, incredibly true):

“If anyone really wanted to change the world, they’d bring in the fashion bitches, because nobody gets things done faster.”

 

Genius. What book inspires you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

